Click to enlarge

SAMMY DAVIS, JR. <br> Nat King Cole Songbook <br> 1962 (Reprise Records - Out of Print)

Details: Reprise R-6164, mono, 1965

Condition: Vinyl VG (light scratches) Jacket VG++ (suitable for framing!)

From the All Music Guide:
The Nat King Cole Song Book (1965) was issued as an homage by Sammy Davis Jr. (vocals) to Nat King Cole, whose untimely passing in February of 1965 prompted Davis to document this tribute. Alongside Cole's collaborator, Billy May, and notable jazz arranger Claus Ogerman, Davis and company turned in one of the finest and most underrated efforts. The obvious affinity and respect the artist had for Cole dated back to Davis' work with the Will Mastin Trio in the 1940s. No one can match Cole's refined and sublime delivery however, Davis adds his own unique presence to a variety of pop ballads, early R&B tunes, and all seminal entries in Cole's sizable catalog. While the album contains a total of 14 songs, both "Smile" and "Christmas Song" [aka "Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire"] have been repeated from previous outings, leaving an even dozen selections recorded specifically for the project. Davis sticks to classic numbers closely (if not primarily) identified with Cole, many of which were among the late vocalist's biggest hits. In fact, the disc commences with his highest charting single of the 1960s, "Rambling Rose." May's unmistakable score swings on a firm mid-tempo stride and the breezy brass section is efficiently interspersed throughout. Another of Cole's top platters is the bouncy and soulful "Send for Me." Again, May's trademark horn interjections propel the melody, as Davis gives a suitably rousing and lively reading. The sophisticated "Route 66" has rarely packed the punch it does here, recalling Davis' interpretation of Mel Tormé's California Suite. Special kudos deserved of the closing medley of "Mona Lisa," "Too Young," and Cole's signature "Nature Boy." Ogerman's restrained instrumentation allows Davis room to make the melodies his own, while still very much retaining the warm, embracing, and above all gentle style that defined Nat King Cole.

The tracks are:
1 Rambling Rose 2:27
2 Unforgettable 2:32
3 Straighten Up and Fly Right 2:45
4 Pretend 3:10
5 Ballerina 2:21
6 It's Only a Paper Moon 2:19
7 Smile 2:40
8 Walkin' My Baby Back Home 2:37
9 Route 66 2:43
10 For Sentimental Reasons 2:12
11 Send for Me 2:25
12 Sweet Lorraine 2:57
13 The Christmas Song 3:25
14 Mona Lisa/Too Young/Nature Boy 5:02

PLEASE NOTE: Unless otherwise noted, all of the LPs we are offering are used. Our grading system for each LP is strictly visual, as we don't have time to listen to each record from beginning to end. Unless otherwise stated, there is usually a small price sticker affixed somewhere on the back cover.

Return to Jazz Vinyl Main Page


We are a Yahoo! Shopping Five Star Site!
"...your excellent customer service is a fine example of the graciousness and Southern hospitality for which New Orleans is famous"
..find out what prompted the Office of the Mayor of New Orleans to write this nice letter to Louie.

DANNY DIGS US! Check out this groovy note to Louie from Dan Akroyd aka/ "Elwood Blues":

Click here to see what we have THIS WEEK ON EBAY

Click here for info about our shipping rates.

Email Louie with your requests and questions about American Roots Music.

Fully Illustrated:

Also available...

The Sound of Building Coffins
by Louis Maistros

Signed copies available exclusively on the net here at Louie’s Juke Joint, just click this link to order!


"Louis Maistros has written a lyrical, complex, and brave novel that takes enormous risks and pulls them all off. He is a writer to watch and keep reading, a writer to cherish."
Peter Straub

"The Society of North American Magic Realists welcomes its newest, most dazzling member, Louis Maistros. His debut novel is a thing of wonder, unlike anything in our literature. It startles. It stuns. It stupefies. No novel since CONFEDERACY OF DUNCES has done such justice to New Orleans. If Franz Kafka had been able to write like Peter Straub, this might have been the result."
Donald Harington,
Winner of the Robert Penn Warren Award and the Oxford-American Lifetime Achievement Award.

“The Sound of Building Coffins is easily one of the finest and truest pieces of New Orleans fiction I've ever read.”
- Poppy Z. Brite

“One has to write with considerable authenticity to pull off a story steeped in magic and swamp water that examines race and class, death and rebirth, Haitian voodoo, and the beginnings of jazz in 1891 New Orleans...The plot is complex and magical, grounded in the history of the city, without being overly sentimental. There is a comfort with death as a part of life in this work that reveals deep feeling for the city and its past....Highly recommended for all fiction collections, especially where there is an interest in jazz."
- Library Journal

Signed copies available exclusively on the net here at Louie’s Juke Joint, just click this link to order!

This website and all it contents Copyright 1997-2012
Louie and Elly Maistros