Click to enlarge

THE NAT KING COLE TREASURY <br> Nat King Cole, 6 LP Set <br> (Longines Symphonette Society, 1970s Mail Order, Out of Print)

Details: SY 5157 (LWS 426), stereo, 6 LP box set, release date unknown (probably early to mid 1970s)

Condition: Vinyl overall VG (good luster on LPs, some light scratches. Record One shows the most wear.) Box VG- (over all very good, but the right side panel shows some separation and damage.)

Out of Print and Not Available as CD.

From the All Music Guide:

Issued during the height of the TV advertised records blitz of the '70s (when K-Tel was king), this multi-record mail order-only boxed set is a rich, well-paced 48 sides set that not only offers such Nat "King" Cole classics as "Stardust," "Those Lazy, Hazy Crazy Days of Summer," and "Ramblin' Rose," but also such little-known treasures as a snappy version of "Oh Mary Don't You Weep" and the early trio track "When I Take My Sugar to Tea." The Middle Eastern-flavored "Delilah" conjures up memories of the classic Victor Mature/Hedy Lamarr movie Samson and Delilah. "That Tender Moment," "A Nightingale Sang in Berkeley Square," and "A Love Affair to Remember" drip with romantism. Other highlights are an ode to the preciousness of children, "Little Child," a strings-drenched reworking of Fats Waller's "Aint Misbehavin," and the swinging "Wild Is Love."

The tracks are:
1. When My Baby Walks Down the Street
2. Ain't Misbehavin' (Brooks/Razaf/Waller)
3. These Foolish Things (Link/Marvell/Strachey)
4. Who's Sorry Now?
5. When I Take My Sugar to Tea
6. Oh Mary, Don't You Weep (Cole)
7. Ramblin' Rose (Sherman/Sherman)
8. Because You're Mine (Brodszky/Cahn)
9. Again (Cochran/Newman)
10. As Far as I'm Concerned
11. Delilah
12. At Last (Gordon/Warren)
13. If I Give My Heart to You (Brewster/Crane/Jacobs)
14. Never Let Me Go (Evans/Livingston)
15. You Fascinate Me
16. Lights Out (Hill)
17. You Stepped Out of a Dream (Brown/Kahn)
18. Little Child
19. I Promise You (Faye/Lerner/Oakland)
20. Once in a While (Edwards/Green)
21. You're Looking at Me (Troup)
22. I've Been Alone Too Long
23. You (Butler/Jackson/Yancy)
24. The Ruby and the Pearl (Evans/Livingston)
25. Funny (Not Much)
26. Those Lazy-Hazy-Crazy Days of Summer (Tobias/Tobias)
27. Only Yesterday
28. A Nightingale Sang in Berkeley Square (Maschwitz/Sherwin)
29. Tenderly (Gross/Lawrence)
30. It's a Lonesome Old Town (Tobias)
31. Don't Get Around Much Anymore (Ellington/Russell)
32. Red Sails in the Sunset
33. Stardust (Carmichael/Parish)
34. There Goes My Heart (Davis/Silver)
35. Paradise (Brown/Clifford)
36. There Will Never Be Another You (Gordon/Warren)
37. Exactly Like You (Fields/McHugh)
38. When You're Smiling (The Whole World... (Fisher/Goodwin/Shay)
39. You're Mine, You (Green/Heyman)
40. Back in My Arms (Mandel/Roger)
41. I Remember You (Mercer/Schertzinger)
42. A Love Affair to Remember
43. That Tender Moment
44. Here's to My Lady (Bloom/Mercer)
45. Moon Love (David/Davis/Kostelanetz)
46. Let's Fall in Love (Arlen/Koehler)
47. I Like It
48. Wild Is Love (Wayne)

PLEASE NOTE: Unless otherwise noted, all of the LPs we are offering are used. Our grading system for each LP is strictly visual, as we don't have time to listen to each record from beginning to end. Unless otherwise stated, there is usually a small price sticker affixed somewhere on the back cover.

Return to Jazz LPs Main Page


We are a Yahoo! Shopping Five Star Site!
"...your excellent customer service is a fine example of the graciousness and Southern hospitality for which New Orleans is famous"
..find out what prompted the Office of the Mayor of New Orleans to write this nice letter to Louie.

DANNY DIGS US! Check out this groovy note to Louie from Dan Akroyd aka/ "Elwood Blues":

Click here to see what we have THIS WEEK ON EBAY

Click here for info about our shipping rates.

Email Louie with your requests and questions about American Roots Music.

Fully Illustrated:

Also available...

The Sound of Building Coffins
by Louis Maistros

Signed copies available exclusively on the net here at Louie’s Juke Joint, just click this link to order!


"Louis Maistros has written a lyrical, complex, and brave novel that takes enormous risks and pulls them all off. He is a writer to watch and keep reading, a writer to cherish."
Peter Straub

"The Society of North American Magic Realists welcomes its newest, most dazzling member, Louis Maistros. His debut novel is a thing of wonder, unlike anything in our literature. It startles. It stuns. It stupefies. No novel since CONFEDERACY OF DUNCES has done such justice to New Orleans. If Franz Kafka had been able to write like Peter Straub, this might have been the result."
Donald Harington,
Winner of the Robert Penn Warren Award and the Oxford-American Lifetime Achievement Award.

“The Sound of Building Coffins is easily one of the finest and truest pieces of New Orleans fiction I've ever read.”
- Poppy Z. Brite

“One has to write with considerable authenticity to pull off a story steeped in magic and swamp water that examines race and class, death and rebirth, Haitian voodoo, and the beginnings of jazz in 1891 New Orleans...The plot is complex and magical, grounded in the history of the city, without being overly sentimental. There is a comfort with death as a part of life in this work that reveals deep feeling for the city and its past....Highly recommended for all fiction collections, especially where there is an interest in jazz."
- Library Journal

Signed copies available exclusively on the net here at Louie’s Juke Joint, just click this link to order!

This website and all it contents Copyright 1997-2012
Louie and Elly Maistros