Click to enlarge

CONTINENTAL JAZZ OCTETTE <br> Modery Jazz Greats <br> 1961 (Crown Records - Out of Print)

Details: Crown CLP 5212, mono, while label with black print, 1961

Condition: Vinyl VG, Jacket G+ (water staining, seams beginning to split, tape damage to front)

Out of Print and Not Available as CD.

Here's a strange offering from Crown Records (1961). Apparently, this is a recording from a group called the Continental Jazz Octette doing covers of familiar versions of jazz recordings by more famous people. The packaging makes it look like (perhaps to be intentionally misleading) that this is a collection of songs by jazz stars, but it's not (in fact, the package was put together so carelessly that Gerry Mulligan's name is misspelled "Jerry". The tracks are listed below with the artists that are mentioned on the jacket, but bear in mind that the songs are performed by the Continental Jazz Octette.

The tracks are:
1. Jumpin With Symphony Sid - Lester Young (performed by The Continental Jazz Octette)
2. Soft Shoe - Jerry (sic) Mulligan (performed by The Continental Jazz Octette)
3. Freeway - Chet Baker (performed by The Continental Jazz Octette)
4. Confirmation - Charlie Parker (performed by The Continental Jazz Octette)
5. Popo - Shorty Rogers (performed by The Continental Jazz Octette)
6. Robbins Nest - Sir Charles Thompson & Illinois Jacquet (performed by The Continental Jazz Octette)
7. Stuffy - Coleman Hawkins (performed by The Continental Jazz Octette)
8. The Funky Shepherds - Bud Shank (performed by The Continental Jazz Octette)
9. Ornithology - Charlie Parker and Benny Harris (performed by The Continental Jazz Octette)

PLEASE NOTE: Unless otherwise noted, all of the LPs we are offering are used. Our grading system for each LP is strictly visual, as we don't have time to listen to each record from beginning to end. Unless otherwise stated, there is usually a small price sticker affixed somewhere on the back cover.

Return to Jazz Vinyl Main Page


We are a Yahoo! Shopping Five Star Site!
"...your excellent customer service is a fine example of the graciousness and Southern hospitality for which New Orleans is famous"
..find out what prompted the Office of the Mayor of New Orleans to write this nice letter to Louie.

DANNY DIGS US! Check out this groovy note to Louie from Dan Akroyd aka/ "Elwood Blues":

Click here to see what we have THIS WEEK ON EBAY

Click here for info about our shipping rates.

Email Louie with your requests and questions about American Roots Music.

Fully Illustrated:

Also available...

The Sound of Building Coffins
by Louis Maistros

Signed copies available exclusively on the net here at Louie’s Juke Joint, just click this link to order!


"Louis Maistros has written a lyrical, complex, and brave novel that takes enormous risks and pulls them all off. He is a writer to watch and keep reading, a writer to cherish."
Peter Straub

"The Society of North American Magic Realists welcomes its newest, most dazzling member, Louis Maistros. His debut novel is a thing of wonder, unlike anything in our literature. It startles. It stuns. It stupefies. No novel since CONFEDERACY OF DUNCES has done such justice to New Orleans. If Franz Kafka had been able to write like Peter Straub, this might have been the result."
Donald Harington,
Winner of the Robert Penn Warren Award and the Oxford-American Lifetime Achievement Award.

“The Sound of Building Coffins is easily one of the finest and truest pieces of New Orleans fiction I've ever read.”
- Poppy Z. Brite

“One has to write with considerable authenticity to pull off a story steeped in magic and swamp water that examines race and class, death and rebirth, Haitian voodoo, and the beginnings of jazz in 1891 New Orleans...The plot is complex and magical, grounded in the history of the city, without being overly sentimental. There is a comfort with death as a part of life in this work that reveals deep feeling for the city and its past....Highly recommended for all fiction collections, especially where there is an interest in jazz."
- Library Journal

Signed copies available exclusively on the net here at Louie’s Juke Joint, just click this link to order!

This website and all it contents Copyright 1997-2012
Louie and Elly Maistros