Click to enlarge

BADFINGER <br> Magic Christian Music <br> 1970 (Apple Records)

Details: Apple ST 3364, stereo, apple halves label, 1970

Condition: Vinyl VG++ (very clean!), Jacket VG++ (most of the original shrink wrap is still intact!)

From the All Music Guide:
If Badfinger's debut album Magic Christian Music sounds patchy, there's a reason why: It was assembled from three different sources. Although the title suggests that the record is a soundtrack to The Magic Christian it isn't. It's a hodgepodge, containing the group's three contributions to the film, six highlights from the band's pre-Badfinger album Maybe Tomorrow (released when they were known as the Iveys), an alternate take from Maybe Tomorrow, and four new songs. It's little wonder that it doesn't hold together, winding up as a document of Badfinger's unharnessed potential. Since their breakthrough hit "Come and Get It" was written by Paul McCartney, Badfinger was dogged by comparisons to the Beatles but they were hardly copyists. Elements of the Hollies, the Kinks, and very mild psychedelia are discernable throughout Magic Christian Music, all part of the band's search for their own voice. Apart from the lovely pop tune "Dear Angie" and Tom Evans' stately, yearning "Maybe Tomorrow," the Iveys numbers aren't particularly distinguished pop but they are, by and large, pleasant period pieces. On the newer material, Badfinger sounds stronger and their craftsmanship surfaces. Pete Ham emerges as a fine songsmith, with the convincing rocker "Midnight Sun" and the gentle "Walk Out in the Rain." Still, the true standouts among the newer songs are "Crimson Ship" and "Carry on Till Tomorrow," both co-written by Ham and Evans. They're two sides of the same coin - dreamy post-psych pop tunes driven by strong hooks and harmonies. They might not always deliver on that promise on Magic Christian Music, but with its appealing melodies, lite psychedelic flourishes and, yes, Beatlesque harmonies, it's an enjoyable artifact of its time.

The tracks are:
1 Come and Get It (McCartney) 2:22
2 Crimson Ship 3:45
3 Dear Angie 2:41
4 Fisherman 2:26
5 Midnight Sun 2:49
6 Beautiful and Blue 2:43
7 Rock of All Ages 2:28
8 Carry on Till Tomorrow 3:17
9 I'm in Love 4:49
10 Walk Out in the Rain 3:28
11 Angelique 2:30
12 Knocking Down Our Home 3:42
13 Give It a Try 2:32
14. Maybe Tomorrow 2:56

PLEASE NOTE: Unless otherwise noted, all of the LPs we are offering are used. Our grading system for each LP is strictly visual, as we don't have time to listen to each record from beginning to end. Unless otherwise stated, there is usually a small price sticker affixed somewhere on the back cover.

Return to Rock & Roll Vinyl Main Page


We are a Yahoo! Shopping Five Star Site!
"...your excellent customer service is a fine example of the graciousness and Southern hospitality for which New Orleans is famous"
..find out what prompted the Office of the Mayor of New Orleans to write this nice letter to Louie.

DANNY DIGS US! Check out this groovy note to Louie from Dan Akroyd aka/ "Elwood Blues":

Click here to see what we have THIS WEEK ON EBAY

Click here for info about our shipping rates.

Email Louie with your requests and questions about American Roots Music.

Fully Illustrated:

Also available...

The Sound of Building Coffins
by Louis Maistros

Signed copies available exclusively on the net here at Louie’s Juke Joint, just click this link to order!


"Louis Maistros has written a lyrical, complex, and brave novel that takes enormous risks and pulls them all off. He is a writer to watch and keep reading, a writer to cherish."
Peter Straub

"The Society of North American Magic Realists welcomes its newest, most dazzling member, Louis Maistros. His debut novel is a thing of wonder, unlike anything in our literature. It startles. It stuns. It stupefies. No novel since CONFEDERACY OF DUNCES has done such justice to New Orleans. If Franz Kafka had been able to write like Peter Straub, this might have been the result."
Donald Harington,
Winner of the Robert Penn Warren Award and the Oxford-American Lifetime Achievement Award.

“The Sound of Building Coffins is easily one of the finest and truest pieces of New Orleans fiction I've ever read.”
- Poppy Z. Brite

“One has to write with considerable authenticity to pull off a story steeped in magic and swamp water that examines race and class, death and rebirth, Haitian voodoo, and the beginnings of jazz in 1891 New Orleans...The plot is complex and magical, grounded in the history of the city, without being overly sentimental. There is a comfort with death as a part of life in this work that reveals deep feeling for the city and its past....Highly recommended for all fiction collections, especially where there is an interest in jazz."
- Library Journal

Signed copies available exclusively on the net here at Louie’s Juke Joint, just click this link to order!

This website and all it contents Copyright 1997-2012
Louie and Elly Maistros