Click to enlarge

MARTHA AND THE VANDELLAS <br> Greatest Hits <br> 1966 (Gordy Records - Out of Print)

Details: Gordy 917, stereo, purple and yellow label, 1966

Condition: Vinyl VG+, jacket VG (minor ringwear and some splitting at bottom seam)

Out of Print and Not Available as CD

From the All Music Guide:
Released at the height of Martha & the Vandellas' success, this 12-song compilation assembles most of the group's hit singles from their first three years as a recording act. It's difficult to criticize a collection that gets such soaring numbers as "You've Been in Love Too Long," "Dancing in the Street," "Nowhere to Run," "Live Wire," "Wild One," "In My Lonely Room," and "Heat Wave" together in one place, although it should be pointed out that the selection is hardly a valid snapshot of the group's singles -- amid the presence of those pounding, anthem-like fixtures of 1960s soul, the album overlooks a few of their more ballad-oriented hits, such as "I'm Ready for Love," although it does open with the gorgeous, lyrical "My Baby Loves Me" and "Come and Get These Memories," their first single to make an impact on the charts. Also missing, because of the release date of this collection, are the 1967-era hits "Jimmy Mack" and "Honey Chile." As with most Motown albums of this period, original pressings (especially in mono) have a dense, thumping sound that makes them a choice listening experience, which later LP copies and the CD reissue (out of print as of January 2001) were sorely lacking, and there are better digital audio compilations representing their work and sound, but the LP had and has its place in serious vinyl collections.

The tracks are:
1. My Baby Loves Me (Hunter/Moy/Stevenson) - 3:02
2. Come and Get These Memories (Dozier/Holland/Holland) - 2:27
3. (Love Is Like A) Heat Wave (Dozier/Holland/Holland) - 2:44
4. Dancing in the Street (Gaye/Hunter/Stevenson) - 2:38
5. Quicksand (Dozier/Holland/Holland) - 2:34
6. Live Wire (Dozier/Holland/Holland) - 2:35
7. You've Been in Love Too Long (Hunter/Paul/Stevenson) - 2:56
8. In My Lonely Room (Dozier/Holland/Holland) - 2:24
9. Love (Makes Me Do Foolish Things) (Dozier/Holland/Holland) - 2:51
10. Love Like Yours (Don't Come Knocking... (Dozier/Holland/Holland) - 2:32
11. Nowhere to Run (Dozier/Holland/Holland) - 2:56
12. Wild One (Hunter/Stevenson) - 2:43

PLEASE NOTE: Unless otherwise noted, all of the LPs we are offering are used. Our grading system for each LP is strictly visual, as we don't have time to listen to each record from beginning to end. Unless otherwise stated, there is usually a small price sticker affixed somewhere on the back cover.

Return to R&B Vinyl Main Page


We are a Yahoo! Shopping Five Star Site!
"...your excellent customer service is a fine example of the graciousness and Southern hospitality for which New Orleans is famous"
..find out what prompted the Office of the Mayor of New Orleans to write this nice letter to Louie.

DANNY DIGS US! Check out this groovy note to Louie from Dan Akroyd aka/ "Elwood Blues":

Click here to see what we have THIS WEEK ON EBAY

Click here for info about our shipping rates.

Email Louie with your requests and questions about American Roots Music.

Fully Illustrated:

Also available...

The Sound of Building Coffins
by Louis Maistros

Signed copies available exclusively on the net here at Louie’s Juke Joint, just click this link to order!


"Louis Maistros has written a lyrical, complex, and brave novel that takes enormous risks and pulls them all off. He is a writer to watch and keep reading, a writer to cherish."
Peter Straub

"The Society of North American Magic Realists welcomes its newest, most dazzling member, Louis Maistros. His debut novel is a thing of wonder, unlike anything in our literature. It startles. It stuns. It stupefies. No novel since CONFEDERACY OF DUNCES has done such justice to New Orleans. If Franz Kafka had been able to write like Peter Straub, this might have been the result."
Donald Harington,
Winner of the Robert Penn Warren Award and the Oxford-American Lifetime Achievement Award.

“The Sound of Building Coffins is easily one of the finest and truest pieces of New Orleans fiction I've ever read.”
- Poppy Z. Brite

“One has to write with considerable authenticity to pull off a story steeped in magic and swamp water that examines race and class, death and rebirth, Haitian voodoo, and the beginnings of jazz in 1891 New Orleans...The plot is complex and magical, grounded in the history of the city, without being overly sentimental. There is a comfort with death as a part of life in this work that reveals deep feeling for the city and its past....Highly recommended for all fiction collections, especially where there is an interest in jazz."
- Library Journal

Signed copies available exclusively on the net here at Louie’s Juke Joint, just click this link to order!

This website and all it contents Copyright 1997-2012
Louie and Elly Maistros