Click to enlarge

DUKE ELLINGTON <br> Monologue (French Import) <br>1973 (CBS France - Out of Print)

Details: CBS 63-563, French Import, mono, orange label with eye logo at center of hole, recorded 1947-1951, issued 1973

Condition: Vinyl VG+++ (very clean, no scratches!), Jacket VG (seams are holding strong, there is a cut out in the upper left corner and an old price written in black ballpoint on the back.)

Out of Print and Not Available as CD.

From the All Movie Guide:
This was the 20th volume in the superb series of Ellington material assembled by the French CBS label. Liner notes are dispensed with entirely, although there is complete discographical information on the sessions. The series is slimly and sleekly packaged, not only in the style of the Duke but a priority for the collector trying to find enough space to fit all of this composer and bandleader's masterpieces. This is one of the finest collections of Ellington and his associates doing a series of short, unconnected pieces, each of them something like a hit single, or anyway they all would have been in a perfect world. The power and precision of the band as a creative jazz unit is evident, and these recordings certainly put to shame later imitations of these concepts done by Wynton Marsalis. The song "On a Turquoise Cloud" comes along and provides a wonderful contrast, with vocalist Kay Davis challenged to maintain equilibrium in the composer's feathery setting. The underrated Al Sears has some nice tenor solos on riff-generated stompers such as "Stop, Look and Listen." The album's title comes from one of the Duke's humorous narrations.

The tracks are:
1 Three Cent Stomp 2:55
2 On a Turquoise Cloud 3:15
3 New York City Blues 3:05
4 Hy'a Sue 2:45
5 Golden Cress 2:50
6 Lady of the Lavender Mist 3:10
7 The Clothed Woman 2:50
8 Monologue 2:15
9 Stop Look and Listen 3:20
10 Rock Skippin' at the Blue Note 2:28
11 Change My Ways 3:15
12 Sultry Serenade 3:05
13 Women 3:15
14 Fancy Dan 3:00
15 Brown Betty 3:05
16 Smada 2:45

PLEASE NOTE: Unless otherwise noted, all of the LPs we are offering are used. Our grading system for each LP is strictly visual, as we don't have time to listen to each record from beginning to end. Unless otherwise stated, there is usually a small price sticker affixed somewhere on the back cover.

Return to Jazz Vinyl Main Page


We are a Yahoo! Shopping Five Star Site!
"...your excellent customer service is a fine example of the graciousness and Southern hospitality for which New Orleans is famous"
..find out what prompted the Office of the Mayor of New Orleans to write this nice letter to Louie.

DANNY DIGS US! Check out this groovy note to Louie from Dan Akroyd aka/ "Elwood Blues":

Click here to see what we have THIS WEEK ON EBAY

Click here for info about our shipping rates.

Email Louie with your requests and questions about American Roots Music.

Fully Illustrated:

Also available...

The Sound of Building Coffins
by Louis Maistros

Signed copies available exclusively on the net here at Louie’s Juke Joint, just click this link to order!


"Louis Maistros has written a lyrical, complex, and brave novel that takes enormous risks and pulls them all off. He is a writer to watch and keep reading, a writer to cherish."
Peter Straub

"The Society of North American Magic Realists welcomes its newest, most dazzling member, Louis Maistros. His debut novel is a thing of wonder, unlike anything in our literature. It startles. It stuns. It stupefies. No novel since CONFEDERACY OF DUNCES has done such justice to New Orleans. If Franz Kafka had been able to write like Peter Straub, this might have been the result."
Donald Harington,
Winner of the Robert Penn Warren Award and the Oxford-American Lifetime Achievement Award.

“The Sound of Building Coffins is easily one of the finest and truest pieces of New Orleans fiction I've ever read.”
- Poppy Z. Brite

“One has to write with considerable authenticity to pull off a story steeped in magic and swamp water that examines race and class, death and rebirth, Haitian voodoo, and the beginnings of jazz in 1891 New Orleans...The plot is complex and magical, grounded in the history of the city, without being overly sentimental. There is a comfort with death as a part of life in this work that reveals deep feeling for the city and its past....Highly recommended for all fiction collections, especially where there is an interest in jazz."
- Library Journal

Signed copies available exclusively on the net here at Louie’s Juke Joint, just click this link to order!

This website and all it contents Copyright 1997-2012
Louie and Elly Maistros