Click to enlarge

BERNIE TAUPIN <br> Bernie Taupin <br> 1971 (Elektra Records - Out of Print)

Details: Elektra EKS-75020, stereo, light green label with butterfly logo right of hole, original inner sleeve, fold out lyric sheet included, 1971

Condition: Vinyl VG+, Jacket G+ (top seam completely split, general soiling - especially evident on back cover), fold out lyric sheet insert VG++ (very clean and well preserved).

From the All Music Guide:
Elton John's lyricist could have come up with a more interesting project given the enormous talent involved. Many of the Elton John mafia from the early seventies participate - producer Gus Dudgeon, Davey Johnstone, Caleb Quaye, Clive Franks, and others accompany Bernie Taupin on this lyrical excursion. Side 1 contains the poem Child which has nine separate elements listed "a" through "i". The second portion of Child which is sub-titled The Greatest Discovery, is the only Elton contribution, credited to John/Taupin. It is also one of the more musical pieces. For the most part Caleb Quaye and Davey Johnstone provide backing for the relentless recitation.

The tracks are:
1 Birth 1:20
2 The Greatest Discovery 2:47
3 Flatters 1:16
4 Brothers Together 1:45
5 Rowston Manor 2:20
6 End of a Day 2:00
7 To a Grandfather 1:42
8 Solitude 1:43
9 Conclusion 1:22
10 When the Heron Wakes 2:40
11 Like Summer Tempests 1:49
12 Today's Hero 2:12
13 Sisters of the Cross 2:39
14 Brothers Together Again 2:33
15 Verses After Dark
16 La Peteite Marionette 1:33
17 Ratcatcher 2:17
18 The Visitor 2:27

PLEASE NOTE: Unless otherwise noted, all of the LPs we are offering are used. Our grading system for each LP is strictly visual, as we don't have time to listen to each record from beginning to end. Unless otherwise stated, there is usually a small price sticker affixed somewhere on the back cover.

Return to Rock and Roll Vinyl Main Page


We are a Yahoo! Shopping Five Star Site!
"...your excellent customer service is a fine example of the graciousness and Southern hospitality for which New Orleans is famous"
..find out what prompted the Office of the Mayor of New Orleans to write this nice letter to Louie.

DANNY DIGS US! Check out this groovy note to Louie from Dan Akroyd aka/ "Elwood Blues":

Click here to see what we have THIS WEEK ON EBAY

Click here for info about our shipping rates.

Email Louie with your requests and questions about American Roots Music.

Fully Illustrated:

Also available...

The Sound of Building Coffins
by Louis Maistros

Signed copies available exclusively on the net here at Louie’s Juke Joint, just click this link to order!


"Louis Maistros has written a lyrical, complex, and brave novel that takes enormous risks and pulls them all off. He is a writer to watch and keep reading, a writer to cherish."
Peter Straub

"The Society of North American Magic Realists welcomes its newest, most dazzling member, Louis Maistros. His debut novel is a thing of wonder, unlike anything in our literature. It startles. It stuns. It stupefies. No novel since CONFEDERACY OF DUNCES has done such justice to New Orleans. If Franz Kafka had been able to write like Peter Straub, this might have been the result."
Donald Harington,
Winner of the Robert Penn Warren Award and the Oxford-American Lifetime Achievement Award.

“The Sound of Building Coffins is easily one of the finest and truest pieces of New Orleans fiction I've ever read.”
- Poppy Z. Brite

“One has to write with considerable authenticity to pull off a story steeped in magic and swamp water that examines race and class, death and rebirth, Haitian voodoo, and the beginnings of jazz in 1891 New Orleans...The plot is complex and magical, grounded in the history of the city, without being overly sentimental. There is a comfort with death as a part of life in this work that reveals deep feeling for the city and its past....Highly recommended for all fiction collections, especially where there is an interest in jazz."
- Library Journal

Signed copies available exclusively on the net here at Louie’s Juke Joint, just click this link to order!

This website and all it contents Copyright 1997-2012
Louie and Elly Maistros